Hey San Antonio, Your Help is Needed!

A message from Public Citizen, SEED Coalition, and Environment Texas:

Your help is needed right away to put energy efficiency into place!

Please call or email your city councilmember today to tell them you support STEP – the new energy efficiency program for San Antonio!

Tomorrow, San Antonio City Council will decide on how CPS Energy can fund their energy efficiency programs known as STEP (Save for Tomorrow Energy Plan). CPS Energy has set a goal to save 771 Megawatts of power through energy efficiency programs by 2020.  This would be one of the most aggressive efficiency goals in the country and we support it!

Energy efficiency is the cheapest energy resource CPS Energy can invest in.  By spending money on weatherizing low income homes and providing rebates for people to purchase high efficiency appliances, CPS avoids having to purchase more expensive energy that would cost everyone more. In addition, people who take advantage of these programs will begin saving money on their utility bills immediately, offsetting the cost of the programs!

Call or email your city councilmember today to tell them:

-I support energy efficiency and urge you to approve STEP

-I want public accountability for these programs through quarterly reporting including information such as the amount of money spent on and energy saved from each program

-I want to be sure that CPS spends the money they collect for STEP on energy efficiency and solar rebates, not for other purposes like coal or nuclear plants!

Mayor   Phil Hardberger (210) 207-7060   [email protected]

District 1   Mary Alice P. Cisneros (210) 207-7279   [email protected]

District 2   Sheila D. McNeil (210) 207-7278   [email protected]

District 3   Jennifer V. Ramos (210) 207-7064   [email protected]

District 4   Philip A. Cortez (210) 207-7281   [email protected]

District 5   Lourdes Galvan (210) 207-7043   [email protected]

District 6   Delicia Herrera (210) 207-7065 [email protected]

District 7   Justin Rodriguez (210) 207-7044 [email protected]

District 8   Diane G. Cibrian (210) 207-7086 [email protected]

District 9   Louis E. Rowe (210) 207-7325 [email protected]

District 10   John G. Clamp (210) 207-7276   [email protected]

If you don’t know who your councilmember is, find out here.

If you are able to, show up at City Hall tomorrow and talk to City Council about STEP.  It is agenda item #5 and should be up before lunchtime.  If you would like to speak, though, you have to sign up in person between 8-9 AM (114 W. Commerce).  If you can’t sign up in time, come by and be there for support!